You are here: Home / Users / / OSU agricultural economics faculty, students honored

Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources

OSU agricultural economics faculty, students honored

STILLWATER, Okla. – Faculty and students of the Oklahoma State University Department of Agricultural Economics were honored for their achievements at the recent Southern Agricultural Economics Association annual meeting in Atlanta, Georgia.

“The SAEA is one of our leading professional organizations,” said Mike Woods, agricultural economics department head. “The participation by our students and faculty was outstanding. Recognition by peers in our profession is particularly important and impressive, and helps showcase the excellence of our teaching, research and Extension programs.”

Brian Whitacre, associate professor and OSU Cooperative Extension economist, received the SAEA Teaching Award for his AGEC 4723 rural economic development class.

“AGEC 4723 is a junior- and senior-level course focusing on topics of interest to many students who come from small towns across the state and country,” Whitacre said. “These include outmigration, trends in agriculture, recent impacts of the Great Recession and how community services are funded.”

Cynda Clary, associate dean of the OSU College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, said Whitacre’s course is an excellent example of how the land-grant university creates linkages between teaching, research and Extension in order to provide students with relevant and timely educational experiences.

“Our historic land-grant focus is on adding value,” she said. “Brian uses his community Extension and research partnerships to add value to the student’s awareness, knowledge and expertise, and ultimately through the student back to his or her family, profession, community and beyond.”

The Oklahoma Quality Beef Network received the SAEA Outstanding Extension Program Award. Agricultural economics department team members included Damona Doye, OSU Cooperative Extension farm management specialist and holder of the Rainbolt chair in agricultural finance; Eric DeVuyst, OSU Cooperative Extension farm and production management specialist; Derrell Peel, OSU Cooperative Extension livestock management specialist and holder of the Charles Breedlove professorship in agribusiness; and Kellie Raper, OSU Cooperative Extension livestock economist.

Other team members included OSU animal scientists Gant Mourer, David Lalman, Chris Richards, Megan Rolf and Daniel Stein; OSU entomologist Justin Talley; and Dr. D.L. Step, OSU Cooperative Extension veterinarian, all of the university’s Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources.

Woods was honored with the SAEA Lifetime Achievement Award. A member of the DASNR faculty since 1986, he is nationally recognized as an expert in rural economic development and has spoken before Congress about how rural communities and rural regions can achieve development goals through effective use of available resources.

"Throughout his career, Dr. Woods has provided outstanding contributions to his profession, the university and the people of Oklahoma, particularly in the field of rural economic development,” said Thomas Coon, DASNR vice president, dean and director. “He is a great champion of the land-grant mission of developing and disseminating science-proven information to enhance the quality of life for individuals, their families and their communities.”

Woods was named head of the OSU Department of Agricultural Economics in January 2007. He served as DASNR interim vice president, dean and director from July 2012 through June 2014.

In addition to the SAEA awards and honors received, 13 presentations were made in selected paper sessions by faculty and graduate students, five posters were accepted and presented, four faculty members presented in an organized symposium and six faculty members or graduate students chaired sessions.

Six undergraduate students compete in the quiz bowl. Participants included Hollee Koester, Jordan Langan, Brady Mayfield, Vance Sharp, Matt Fletcher and Logan Smith. Josh Maples, graduate student, coached the team.

Jody Campiche, OSU Cooperative Extension agricultural economist and an assistant professor of agricultural policy with the department, serves as a SAEA director.


Katie Powers
Communications Specialist
Department of Agricultural Economics
314 Agricultural Hall
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK 74078
Phone: 405-744-6163
Fax: 405-744-8210

Donald Stotts and Melissa Mourer
Communications Specialists
Agricultural Communications Services
143 Agriculture North
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK 74078
Phone: 405-744-4079
Fax: 405-744-5739
Email: or       

Oklahoma State University, U. S. Department of Agriculture, State and Local governments cooperating; Oklahoma State University in compliance with Title VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Executive Order 11246 as amended, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, and other federal and state laws and regulations, does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, gender, age, religion, disability, or status as a veteran in any of its policies, practices, or procedures, and is an equal opportunity employer. 

Oklahoma State University - Stillwater, OK 74078

Filed under: