You are here: Home / Users / leilana.mckindra@okstate.edu / New FDA ruling will help ID gluten-free foods

Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources

New FDA ruling will help ID gluten-free foods

STILLWATER, Okla. – It is hard to miss all the products lining grocery store shelves proclaiming to be “gluten-free.” Have you ever wondered about the accuracy of those claims?

A recently issued U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulation defines the term “gluten-free” for voluntary labeling, ensuring that now both food manufacturers and consumers will be speaking the same language.

“In order to manage specific diagnosed medical conditions, up to 3 million people in the U.S. follow gluten-free diets,” said Janice Hermann, Oklahoma State University Cooperative Extension nutrition specialist. “For those individuals, this is welcome news because it will make identifying gluten-free products much easier.”

Gluten is a protein contained in certain grains such as wheat, rye and barley. These proteins enhance the taste and texture of foods, and are found in a wide variety of foods like ice cream, French fries and even ketchup.

While most of us have no trouble eating foods with gluten, for the small percentage of Americans who have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS), the only effective treatment for these conditions is following a diet free of gluten.

Specifically, the FDA regulation creates a uniform meaning for the term “gluten-free” throughout the food industry. In order to claim a product is gluten-free, it must meet all the requirements of the definition, including that it contains less than 20 parts per million of gluten.

Other foods labeled as “no gluten,” “free of gluten” and “without gluten” also must meet the same threshold as items designated as “gluten-free.”

Once the rule is published, food manufacturers will have one year to comply with the new policy; however, many products may already meet the standard.

Beyond looking for clues on packaging, consumers of gluten-free products can check the list of ingredients on the nutrition label for guidance, Hermann said.

The 2006 Food and Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) requires companies list “in plain English” the eight most prevalent food allergens in a product, including wheat. However, the legislation does not cover barley, rye or oats, or ingredients that could be contaminated during processing.

“If the label doesn’t clearly say the food item is free of gluten, check for six basic ingredients – wheat, rye, barley, malt, oats and brewer’s yeast,” Hermann said.

###

Oklahoma State University, U.S. Department of Agriculture, State and Local Governments Cooperating: The Oklahoma Cooperative Extension Service offers its programs to all eligible persons regardless of race, color, national origin, religion, gender, age, disability, or status as a veteran, and is an equal opportunity employer.

 

REPORTER/MEDIA CONTACT:
Leilana McKindra
Communications Specialist
Agricultural Communications Services
140 Agriculture North
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK 74078
Phone: 405-744-6792
Fax: 405-744-5739
Email: leilana.mckindra@okstate.edu

Oklahoma State University - Stillwater, OK 74078
405.744.5000